Our History

original chuch on Columbia Turnpike

The history of the First United Methodist Church of East Greenbush is long and varied in service to the community and the world. The first meeting was held in 1836. Homes, schools and even a local hotel ballroom were used as meeting places until 1873, when a Methodist Society was organized. Trustees were elected and plans made to build a church in East Greenbush. The church was built on Columbia Turnpike (Routes 9 & 20) at the present day site of Sweater Venture. in 1874.

 

On October 15, 1874, Twenty nine men and women transferred membership from the Greenbush Methodist Church (Rensselaer) to the newly established the East Greenbush Methodist Episcopal Church. By 1953, the congregation had outgrown the facilities on Columbia Turnpike. Land was purchased at the corner of Gilligan and Hays Roads and, on Christmas Eve 1961, the first service was held in the new church.

lighted candles near a bible

 

tree near a walk way in church courtyard

The Fellowship Hall and additional classrooms were dedicated on February 9, 1969. On June 1, 1970, our beautiful pipe organ was dedicated. From the days of the hand-pumped reed organ in the first church to the present time, music has always been a vital and joyful part of our worship experience. Our Memorial Courtyard provides a place of beauty and serenity for peaceful meditation. We also have a nature walk and meditation sites on the church grounds.

Throughout its history, the First United Methodist of East Greenbush has been deeply committed to the vision of providing a place for spiritual nourishment of both head and heart and to a foundation for members and friends to make a difference in the community and the world.